Twitter is getting automatic captions for videos. The much-awaited feature begins rolling out globally for iOS, Android, and Web, starting Wednesday, December 15. The auto-caption feature currently supports 37 languages. Since the translation is not available online on Twitter, the captions will appear in the language of the device used to originally upload the clip. Auto captions will appear on muted videos on both iOS and Android. On the other hand, desktop users can turn them on and off. Users with hearing impairments can now watch videos on Twitter with automatic captions turned on, expanding access to more users on the platform.
The Twitter Support team on December 15 tweeted about the new update. The company confirmed that automatic captioning for videos will be available to all users on Android, iOS, and the Web starting today. As mentioned, with the new functionality, Twitter users can see subtitles automatically appear while watching muted videos on mobile devices. Twitter auto captions are available in more than 30 languages currently, including Arabic, Chinese, English, German, Hindi, Tamil and many more.
Where are the video subtitles when you need them? They are now automatically here on videos uploaded starting today.
Android & iOS: automatic subtitles will show on muted Tweet videos; keep them on when unmute through your device’s accessibility settings
Web: use “CC” button to turn on/off pic.twitter.com/IHJAI31IvX
– Twitter Support (@TwitterSupport) December 14, 2021
Twitter notes that automatic captions will now show on muted videos on iOS and Android, while you can also tap CC on the screen to view the subtitle text automatically after turning off the device’s sound.
The social media company has added many notable changes to its platform and Twitter Spaces recently. It joined hands with Instagram for easy cross-posting with debut Twitter Cards Preview on Android, iOS, and Web. In addition, Twitter has added a new privacy-related feature that allows users to delete a follower without blocking them. Once a Twitter user has deleted someone, the user’s tweets will no longer automatically appear in their timeline. It is currently available on the Web version.